*Red, White & Blue* Themed Mantel

With 4th of July in just a week away I thought I would share with you my DIY *Red, White and Blue* themed mantel in our living room. It’s perfect for both memorial day throughout the 4th of July!

mantle4thjuly
On the mantel I have a few picture frames, our initials “C&S” for Christopher & Sara, and a candle pillar. To add the special red, white and blue touch I picked up a few things at our local Joann’s.
cutestuff
I found this really cute star made out of grapevine and I thought it would be perfect to take the place of the wreath I normally would make to hang on the front the mirror.  I also found a smaller star (red, white and blue) to hang in the middle of this one to add a little color. Next, I am going to show you how I made the star banner. It’s so easy to make, no one would ever guess it was homemade. I found some red, white and blue paper in the scrapbook isle. I cut out some stars to attach to the banner.
bannermakings
 I cut out some burlap paper into the banner shape (7 to be total). Then fold the back down enough to hot glue the string behind it.

howtomake
Once that is done you can flip it back over and hot glue your cut out star shapes to the front. Color coordinating red, white then blue.

banner
Hang this up in the center of your mantel.

freedom
I found this FREEDOM wood sign at Joann’s as well. Snatched this baby up 70% off! I love a great sale.

minipillow
This cute mini pillow is hung from one of the picture frame, adds just enough color to the left side of the mantel. Sometimes I think less is more. 

candle

This 4th of July themed candle is one the right side. On the candle are all differnt words that describe that special day, such as fireworks, bbq, picnics, america, freedom, and so on.
closeup

Just a couple small things make a big difference. ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

